Steampunk Cylon Gallery: 25 old-tyme robot designs

What would a Steampunk Cylon look like? That's what we asked you a few months ago, when DVICE kicked off its Steampunk Cylon design contest as Battlestar Galactica began its final run (ending tonight, by the way). And did you guys ever rise to the challenge! We received Photoshop renderings, drawings — even photos of someone's hand-made sculpture. Impressive stuff.

The winner, selected by our Imperious Leaders, is the entry above, created by Ronnie A. Gamble Jr. Beyond just creating a period-appropriate design with amazing detail (just check out those dials — click on the pic to see it enlarged), he gave it an extremely clever presentation. Nice work. Ronnie wins some BSG and DVICE swag as well as our fealty to him as supreme Steampunk Cylon Designer.

Hit the jump for the runners-up, along with our big gallery featuring all the designs we received (some are even made of… wait for it… LEGO!).

steampunk_cylon_ru.jpgWe simply must give props to the designers behind these two entries. The one on the left, by Robert Christiansen, is a hand-made foot-tall Steampunk Cylon sculpture. Robert says it took him 50 hours of work to put together, and even includes parts from a discarded printer! The one on the right is from Peter Tulay, and his drawing really captures the Steampunk aesthetic, not to mention looks pretty badass. We also appreciate the faded-paper presentation.

Larger pics of both runners up are in the gallery below. Click on through to see all the entries to our contest, including our initial sample. Got a favorite? Let us know in the comments, and keep an eye out for our next design contest! So say we all.

CREDITS (left to right):
Top Row: Michael Treadwell, Matt Gentry, Bryan Taylor, Eric Charles Ricker (x2)
Second Row: Ralph Lumley, Chris Kalb, Mazen Dakkak, Cody Fowler, Ben Rollman
Third Row: Ben Rollman, Shaun Pitz, Darron Todd Moore, Bill Anstett, Robert Christiansen
Fourth Row: Robert Christiansen (x3), Omar Todd, Jeff Softley
Fifth Row: James Perry, Michael Treadwell, Peter Tulay, Mark Anderson, David Munger
Sixth Row: Jason Jordan, David Buscher, Shawn Sharp (x2), Neil Smith
Last Row: Jason Jordan, Nicolas Wuyts, Raymond Tan