If you think you spend too much time on social media and have considered deactivating your account, Social Roulette is the app for you — or at least, it was the app for you, until Facebook blocked it.
Here's how it worked: you played the game every day, and every day there'd a one in six chance that your Facebook account will be deleted (like a somewhat lower-stakes version of a real game of Russian Roulette). And the app wasn't kidding around: if you lost, it would completely remove all your posts, friends, apps, likes, photos, and games before completely deactivating your account. If the worst happened and you managed to not lose, the following was posted to your timeline: "I played Social Roulette and survived."
Here's how the Social Roulette founders described their app:
Everyone thinks about deleting their account at some point, it's a completely normal reaction to the overwhelming nature of digital culture. Is it time to consider a new development in your life? Are you looking for the opportunity to start fresh? Or are you just seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your social network? Maybe it's time for you to play Social Roulette.
What do you think about the Social Roulette app and Facebook's swift response?